Skip to content ↓

Learning and the Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Framework is divided  into the following seven areas of learning and development: 

  • Physical Development 
  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy (Reading and writing)
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive art and design

The EYFS is underpinned by four Principles. These principles are:

  • A Unique Child - every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive Relationships - children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or key person.
  • Enabling Environments - the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.
  • Learning and Development - children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

We have termly topics to support the children's learning. Staff meet regularly to discuss the development of their key children and focus children. We observe, analyse and use what we have found out about the children so that we can support children to reach the next steps in their learning.  However, it must be stressed that an important element to any child's learning is PLAY and we ensure that we have the correct balance between adult initiated and child initiated activities.


Please click here to see what the children will cover this year.